5 Writing-Related Things to Do When You Can’t Write

When the words aren’t flowing — get your mind going

Melissa-Jane Nguyen
Short-B-Read

--

Photo by Frederick Medina on Unsplash

Struggling to write comes from:

  • Not being able to focus on writing due to other distractions and responsibilities.
  • Being too focused on writing that fear of imperfection holds you back.

Recently we went through a stage in my house where at least one of us was sick. It went on for weeks, and during that time my writing word count was sitting not too far from zero. I was either sick or exhausted from dealing with sickness, so my usual go-to writing times were non-existent.

But what really worried me was the lack of space in my mind for writing. I’d be going from room to room picking things up, wiping noses, changing nappies, trying to get some rest, and my writing projects weren’t even close to the forefront of my mind like they usually are.

So, when I wasn’t dealing with my own head full of snot (lovely, right?!) and needing sleep, I decided I needed to start immersing myself in the writing world again, which is how I’m beginning to make my way back to a semi-regular writing schedule.

The best thing about this: I’ve done it all before.

--

--

Melissa-Jane Nguyen
Short-B-Read

Writer and editor. Writing about parenting, writing and life. Working on YA novel. Tea drinker. Book lover. Wife. Mother. https://melissajane.substack.com/