Wands Out for the Fangirls and Fanboys

Book review of Rainbow Rowell’s Carry On

Dayle Fogarty
Short-B-Read
3 min readSep 5, 2020

--

Photo by Artem Maltsev on Unsplash

Grab a cuppa, open the packet of Tim Tams, and snuggle up with a blanket because this one’s as wholesome as they come.

My read for the month was Carry On, by author Rainbow Rowell. (I also read Wayward Son, the sequel).

I adored this book. No need to say more really. The end. Goodnight.

That would be a very Baz-like thing to do, I think. Who, undoubtedly, is my favourite character of the series. He is the perfect example of a helpful antagonist. Or unhelpful protagonist’s ally. Either way he gives off some cool Damon Salvatore vibes. Maybe even cooler.

I’ll begin by disclosing I haven’t read Rainbow Rowell’s earlier novel, Fangirl. And for those who aren’t yet jumping on the R.R. bandwagon, the characters — Simon, Baz, and Penelope — from Carry On are made up characters in a made up world in Fangirl, which is also made up. The main character of Fangirl is a hardcore fan of the Simon Snow fictional series… and that’s as far as I get explaining this.

Is it inception? Is it meta? I don’t know.

But I do know that it’s genius.

Carry On was a book I didn’t know I needed until I realised it would be the ultimate escape from the many trials and tribulations of life right now.

Like flicking through a Rolodex, the following could be topics I cycle through mentally on a daily basis; Covid-19, locust plaques, disastrous fires, police brutality on BIPOC, sh*tty politicians, working from home with a toddler, extended time missing loved ones, and just this overwhelming sense of uncertainty.

(Rolodex — for those born after 1996 that might not know what this was, you’re welcome.)

So, while it might seem self-indulgent to disconnect from this world and fully immerse myself into the one of Simon and Baz at Watford, I’ll argue here that it’s a part of my self-care and rest routine.

If I let that slip then I seldom have the energy to get any world-changing tasks done!

In a Nutshell

Carry On sits in this sweet spot genre where coming-of-age meets young adult, based in a fantasy wizard world where the stakes are life and death, but unexpected romance triumphs most of all.

Why I Think You Should Read It

  1. It’s funny. I chortled many a times reading this in bed, waking the husband from his slumber.
  2. It’s a more relatable and realistic story based on wizards. There’s swearing, wicked banter, and characters whose inability to self-regulate at times speaks to me. (Don’t worry, I still love HP)
  3. It’s a quick read. If you’re behind on your Goodreads Challenge then fear not! Carry On will have avid readers smash these out in a few days. To say it’s simple seems insulting. A book that’s “easy to read” does not equate to “easy to write”.
  4. It depicts teenage relationships and love in a believable way. The awkwardness, the over-analysing, the heartache, rejections, friendships, curiosity, sexuality. This is one of Rowell’s signature writing styles. I remember this from reading Eleanor & Park a few years back.
  5. It contains a plethora of pop culture and literary references, from movies to songs — exhibit a in the book title. These are sometimes cleverly woven into the story with words and phrases needed for conducting spells.
  6. Lastly, the story is told from multiple points of view, which can sometimes be the downfall of a good book, but I think it worked for Carry On. Simon can seem like a bit of a sooky bum (a.k.a. sap or whiner), so the change up was welcome. Each character had their own unique voice and personality. The multiple POV format was executed well.
  7. Baz.

Was it a “right time, right place” read?

Perhaps.

Maybe if I’d read this last year, pre 2020, pre the beginning of a new decade where the universe literally told every human to go eff themselves, I might not be this hyped about it…

Nah, I think I’d still love it. But perhaps I wouldn’t have appreciated just how much Carry On has to offer readers.

Because just like in the book, sometimes, through life’s ups and downs, all we have left in us is to just carry on.

--

--

Dayle Fogarty
Short-B-Read

Storyteller. Writer. Foster mum. Goonie. George Harrison. Believes in social justice and human rights for all. Homebody with a longing to travel.