7 Overlooked Edge Browser Features to Improve Productivity

Robby Boney
Short Bits
Published in
5 min readApr 10, 2024

--

Useful features that have taken me time to find in Edge

Ever since Copilot launched in 2023 with Bing Chat (later merged into Copilot) I gave Microsoft’s browser another chance. Over time I have been continually impressed with a wide range of features that I never found in other browsers or features that were only available as browser extensions.

There are lots of interesting features I’m not listing here simply because I haven’t used them as much (such as the edge coupons feature). The ones in this list are some I use fairly often or everyday. Maybe some of these are ones you could benefit from if you're not already using them. Also let me know what browser features your using that I missed?

Vertical Tabs

Vertical Tabs was a game changing concept for me I had only seen as a chrome extension previously. This is a personal preference but feels like a much better use of space and is much easier to scroll through when there are lots of pages open.

You can enable Vertical tabs from Copilot or from the tab menu in the top left of the menu bar.

--

--

Robby Boney
Short Bits

Director of Product Development @ Interject Data Systems. I write Software for Science, Data & Enterprise…https://robbyboney.notion.site/