Amazing Simple Whiteboarding & Prototyping With TLDraw

Robby Boney
Short Bits
Published in
6 min readFeb 14, 2024

--

Art made by me with TLDRAW… No AI this time

Simplified diagramming with collaborative and intuitive design

TLDraw is a free and collaborative diagramming tool that lets you create on an infinite canvas. I started using over the past few months and have gotten hooked on its simplicity and robust attention to detail in features like how arrows adjust when their connected shapes rotate. Whether you need to sketch out some code, brainstorm an app design, or illustrate a concept flow, TLDraw makes it easy with its simplified interface. You can use it online without any login, or download it as an open source library to build your own custom applications.

In this article I want to give an overview of most the features I’ve found and use. As a big fan of Draw.io, I found TLDraw really awesome, and at this point tend to open TLDraw as my first option for whiteboarding ideas.

Pages

When you open the app, your brought to a blank canvas, and everything is organized into pages which can be edited and reorganized from the page dropdown.

Toolbar

--

--

Robby Boney
Short Bits

Director of Product Development @ Interject Data Systems. I write Software for Science, Data & Enterprise…https://robbyboney.notion.site/