“Thinking About Thinking Is The Most Important Kind of Thinking”

Do you think about your thinking?

I chose a quote from a Category Pirates’ mini book I was reading this morning as a headline for this post. And I agree with the Pirates’ perspective.

We ‘knowledge workers’ think a lot. But do we regularly challenge the way we think?

This is what I am going to do during the holidays.

Picture by Jorm Sangsorn on iStock

I am going to ask myself four critical questions:

–> What is the problem I try to solve with my work? Is it a ‘me-problem,’ such as earning more money? Or is it a problem my customers have, and with which my ideas can be of much help?

–> What are my goals? If the problem I try to solve is wrong, chances are my goals are wrong, too. Are they ‘me-goals’?

–> What tools do I use to reach my goals? Are these tools suitable for ‘me-problem’ and ‘me-goals only’?

–> What metrics do I use to evaluate my progress?

So, since I have some spare time, I am going to use it rationally. I will spend a lot of time with my family. But I will also try to sharpen my ‘thinking saw.’

Will you sharpen your thinking saw, too?

Do you want to learn more about strategic thinking? Join my newsletter.

Do you like the story? Share it on social media.

You can support my work by becoming a Medium member via my personal link. I will appreciate your support.

Follow me on LinkedIn.

--

--

Svyatoslav Biryulin
Short business articles by Svyatoslav Biryulin

Contrarian strategist. Strategic thinker. Help startups and mature companies with strategies and post articles on strategy. https://sbiryulin.com