Micro Fiction

Full Moon, Tomorrow

The space from the ground to the stars

Mackenzie Davis
Short Shorts
Published in
2 min readOct 31, 2023

--

Photo Credit: Kim MyoungSung

It must have been the day before the full moon. As my phone chimed beside me on the grass, I could only hear it as a drum roll. Softly, it cascaded over me like an answered prayer cooling the spirit as the stars shone bright above me.

We were doing that thing new couples do, texting like horses to water in the Sahara. It was soul-wrenching to consider sleep, knowing the chimes would continue if I continued. Thumbs and eyes kept me breathing with an alacrity I’d not known before. Life suddenly mattered, fading into smallness, and pushed space up and beyond the sweet air on my lips.

Amazing, I thought, waiting for your next message, that we are looking at the same sky. It feels like millions of clouds separate us, the moon showing you different stars than it’s showing me.

Your chimes through windless air caused a flutter in my heart. Here was me, glittering and dull beneath a shining cosmic sea, large and small as life introduced itself. I hadn’t considered what could shift with simple words and you. You, floating. I touched the grass and felt tethered to your waters, through eyes raised to constellations.

Resting there, on the cusp of something and fed by the ground at my back, I breathed in the…

--

--

Mackenzie Davis
Short Shorts

Poet, magical realist, thinker \\ Life bumbler. Social fumbler. Private grumbler. Suspicious of bandwagons.