‘Killed Instantly’

The mother of all my irrational fears

Scott Zosel
Short Shorts
2 min readMay 15, 2023

--

Photo by Mayron Oliveira on Unsplash

KateElizabeth was kind enough to ask me to submit an ‘irrational fears ’ story. I wrote this little story poem about an ‘irrational fears’ daydream I had one sunny afternoon during the pandemic, out on a leisurely bike ride.

‘Killed instantly’ on a hot August day,
mourners gathered without much to say,
as they drank for free,
sipping small talk,
toasting as if I mattered,
about my skull being shattered
on the hood of an old Chevrolet.

‘A good life stolen’ they would say,
by tragedy
as conversations would rumble,
reputations dying in the moment,
a sonic tower of syllables and adjectives,
crumbling in the mist of near tears,
people snapping selfies
next to my ashes,
a circle of sympathetic bouquets,
I was now hovering, listening
as my daydream met its match
with that oncoming Chevrolet.

‘Killed instantly,’
the words of the paragraph read,
and ‘so full of life’
people said, smiling
as they went on their way,
I would slowly fade away,
and find my place
among the dead
next to my new neighbors,
in the obituaries
on this day.

My imagination often runs away with me; a weird story like this is often the result. Thanks for reading…please comment if you dare. LOL, have a blessed day, ya’ll!

--

--