My Fiancé’s Wedding

Who am I?

Sakthi Mahalingam
Short Shorts
1 min readOct 4, 2023

--

Photo by Liquid (Artiste) Arya on Unsplash

She was adorable.

She looked gorgeous in that wine-red saree. Gold antique jewels glittered on her neck. Jhumkas swayed in the air musically when she talked. Her pearl girdle enhanced her shape, sitting on the waist.

She didn’t notice me standing by the door and admiring her beauty.

The stylist applied a blush to her face, which was already pink.

She was ready for her bridal look.

I saw someone coming to take her to the stage.

I sprinted towards the stage. No familiar faces.

Where is my family?

“Who is this?” Sitting in my place as a groom. I was supposed to be there.

What’s happening? I was baffled.

I went back to the bride’s room and called her. She couldn’t hear. I neared her and tried to touch her. I couldn’t feel the touch. My hands passed through her body.

No one in the room felt my presence. OMG, “Am I dead?”.

--

--

Sakthi Mahalingam
Short Shorts

Write about the happenings in and around my life. Movie-buff. It makes me write fiction sometimes. At present, I'm in search of my favorite genre of books.