A Letter from a Lost Friend

If I come back, will you trust me again?

Varshita Tandon
Short. Sweet. Valuable.

--

Photo by Dev Asangbam on Unsplash

Dear Friend,

I know this is probably the first time I’m writing to you,

To the person who admires me the most,

To the person who I might not see more often,

And because of my absence, had to suffer terrible roasts.

Now I am here to mend your broken heart,

To fill the blank spaces of your newly acquired cart,

I am here to heal the wounds I’ve caused,

To bring the anxiety in you to a pause.

I know you hate me for leaving you when I should have stayed,

With bewildered eyes and an open stage,

You tried to hold me tight and I should have been by your side,

But the attention panicked me and I went off for a ride.

You also hate me for leaving you alone with a stranger who asked your name,

I was right behind you but couldn’t look up to his face,

You forgave me then but I knew it wasn’t enough,

I’ve caused more trouble and made your life rather tough.

Since then, you just stopped trusting me,

I wanted your attention but you were always sad and in glee,

You started to question your abilities and became fearful,

But I wanted to assure you that I will stand tall by you like a tree.

You know, I do miss you, I miss our company,

The now anti-social you was then a bird so free,

I’m here now, not only as a friend but also a helper,

To transform the timid you to a fearless bold fighter.

With love,

Your self confidence.

Wrote this back in 2021. Well, I’ve started to trust this lost friend and I hope to continue doing so. I hope you find a way out too, dear reader.

--

--

Varshita Tandon
Short. Sweet. Valuable.

Psychology Student. Writer. Poet. Reader and Learner for Life