From the SeaTac Airport Website

Pushing a Baggage Cart at the Airport

Sheila Bender
Short. Sweet. Valuable.

--

I think of my father rolling my first bicycle back and forth to be sure the training wheels he attached were secure, then firmly holding the back of my seat as I peddled up the block to get used to the feel of wheels.

When I was ready, he took the training wheels off and again for a while held the back of my seat. Eventually, he assured me he still gripped the seat, though he was pretending because his hand was already empty.

After he drove me to my freshman year of college, we hugged goodbye. I watched him leave for home in the family Pontiac. A new set of training wheels, this time for us both.

--

--

Sheila Bender
Short. Sweet. Valuable.

Since Then: Poems and Short Prose is Sheila Bender's most recent book. Visit WritingItReal.com to learn more about her, her work, and her books.