Introducing the trash bin

Making deleting notes clearer and better.

Herbert Bay
Dec 9, 2017 · 2 min read

We got many emails from users about how to delete notes. In the new version 5.0.1 we made deleting notes clearer and added the possibility to restore deleted notes. Say hello to the trash bin :-)

Figure 1: Say hello to the trash bin.

Delete notes

There are now two possibilities to move notes to the trash bin.

  1. Swipe left the note you want to move to the trash bin.
  2. Select ‘move to trash’ in the menu that appears after clicking the top-right button in the notes view.
Figure 2: Swipe left.
Figure 3: Top right button to click to move item to trash.

Restore or permanently delete notes

In order to restore or permanently delete your notes, open the side menu and click on the trash bin as shown in Figure 1 above. Left swipe the note you want to restore or permanently delete and select the appropriate action. To empty the trash, click on the button in the top right.

Notice that it is possible to open notes in the trash bin, but it is not possible to edit them.

Feel free to drop us an email with feedback and suggestions to make Shortcut better.

Shortcut Recipe Manager

Save and organize all your recipes in one place

Medium is an open platform where 170 million readers come to find insightful and dynamic thinking. Here, expert and undiscovered voices alike dive into the heart of any topic and bring new ideas to the surface. Learn more

Follow the writers, publications, and topics that matter to you, and you’ll see them on your homepage and in your inbox. Explore

If you have a story to tell, knowledge to share, or a perspective to offer — welcome home. It’s easy and free to post your thinking on any topic. Write on Medium

Get the Medium app

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store