Introducing the trash bin

Making deleting notes clearer and better.

Herbert Bay
Dec 9, 2017 · 2 min read

We got many emails from users about how to delete notes. In the new version 5.0.1 we made deleting notes clearer and added the possibility to restore deleted notes. Say hello to the trash bin :-)

Figure 1: Say hello to the trash bin.

Delete notes

There are now two possibilities to move notes to the trash bin.

  1. Swipe left the note you want to move to the trash bin.
  2. Select ‘move to trash’ in the menu that appears after clicking the top-right button in the notes view.
Figure 2: Swipe left.
Figure 3: Top right button to click to move item to trash.

Restore or permanently delete notes

In order to restore or permanently delete your notes, open the side menu and click on the trash bin as shown in Figure 1 above. Left swipe the note you want to restore or permanently delete and select the appropriate action. To empty the trash, click on the button in the top right.

Notice that it is possible to open notes in the trash bin, but it is not possible to edit them.


Feel free to drop us an email with feedback and suggestions to make Shortcut better.

Shortcut App

Herbert Bay

Written by

Founder of ShortcutApp.io

Shortcut App

For creators and innovators

Welcome to a place where words matter. On Medium, smart voices and original ideas take center stage - with no ads in sight. Watch
Follow all the topics you care about, and we’ll deliver the best stories for you to your homepage and inbox. Explore
Get unlimited access to the best stories on Medium — and support writers while you’re at it. Just $5/month. Upgrade