Mahogany Red

A Tale About The Man I Live With

Suma Narayan
2 min readJan 2, 2022
A girl in a partially white top, with plaited red hair, standing with her back to the camera, looking at the trees in front of her.
Photo by Nyana Stoica on Unsplash

We are done with our daily 5 km walk, and we are at the tender-coconut seller’s when I notice a woman walking by. She has coloured her hair a shade of chestnut-blond.

So I turn brightly to the gentleman who lives with me and ask him craftily, “How do you think I would look if I coloured my hair a shade of red?” He chokes on his coconut water, and I pat him kindly on the back, before elucidating, “You know, a shade of mahogany red? How do you think I will look?”

By then he has already looked around from side to side like a hunted animal, but he has to pay the coconut seller, and anyway, how far can he run? He keeps the coconut down and says, deadpan and poker-faced, “You will look like a woman with red hair.”

And he turned away with studied nonchalance, to pay the coconut seller. After which he began slowly walking forward. I closed my mouth, that had dropped open in shock and awe, and followed him.

So much for me being a language teacher able to think on my feet.

The sun shone today.

Come out for a walk, before you are locked up again.

©️ 2022 Suma Narayan. All Rights Reserved.

--

--

Suma Narayan

Loves people, cats and tea: believes humanity is good by default, and that all prayer works. Also writes books. Support me at: https://ko-fi.com/sumanarayan1160