Memoir on Short Works

Love Is a Battlefield, and I’m Losing

I met her in a coffee shop

Ani Eldritch
Short Works

--

Brooke Cagle took this photo of a smiling woman holding a cappuccino in both hands.
Photo by Brooke Cagle on Unsplash

It’s three a.m., and I’m wide awake, staring at the ceiling fan like it might offer profound insight. Love, right? This messy, beautiful disaster. I met her in a coffee shop – cliché, I know – but it felt like a movie scene: slow motion, awkward eye contact, me spilling my coffee. Now, I’m replaying every word she said, every glance she gave. Did she mean it when she said she likes my smile? Or was it just polite? I’m not sure she even remembers my name, but that smile – like a hurricane, and I’m just a flimsy house on the shore. I keep thinking, overthinking, obsessing. Maybe I’m just another casualty in this war called love, but if it means seeing her smile again, maybe it’s worth losing. Because her smile, man, it’s everything.

Ani Eldritch 2024

--

--

Ani Eldritch
Short Works

I am a New York writer and poet. Long Works and Short Works are my publications. Jazz inspires me. Earl Grey tea and Thai food keep me going.