Travel. Busan. South Korea.

A Love Letter To Busan

Living abroad, how this city became my first love

Sh*t Happens - Lost Girl Travel
Show Your City
Published in
8 min readAug 9, 2021

--

A view over the city of Busan- hiking behind my home (Photo credit to author)

Before we met

Dear Busan,

There once was a time I had never even heard of your name. It’s inconceivable to me now.

While completing my TEFL course in Prague, we hadn’t decided on a country yet, let alone a city. Should we choose Japan, China, or Taiwan? I hadn’t even considered South Korea.

But our friend from our course showed us the light. He recommended a country with jobs where your school not only gave you a generous wage but provided you with accommodation on top AND paid for your flight there. It seemed too good to be true. But I looked into it, and yes, this was the package deal.

My fellow TEFL classmates and housemates and I in Prague (Photo credit to author)

Down the internet research rabbit hole, I fell. The further I fell, the more it became clear that, yes, Korea was the one for us.

As for where to live in Korea, I’d only heard of Seoul. The colossal capital was like the sun in the middle of many satellite cities orbiting around it. I enjoy cities, but I didn’t know if I wanted that much city…

--

--

Sh*t Happens - Lost Girl Travel
Show Your City

Hi! I’m Georgie and I share travel stories of when sh*t happens. I think that sometimes the worst things that happen to you traveling, are often the funniest