A Rural Village in the Heart of Germany

Surrounded by forest, two Buddha statues, and a whisky distillery

Anne Bonfert
Show Your City
Published in
8 min readMay 5, 2021

--

Credit: Anne Bonfert

The birds are singing as the sun is disappearing behind the forest. The church bell is ringing. It’s six o’clock. In this town people still know the time by the sound of the bell. It’s nostalgic. Peaceful. And so full of life.

It has been another lovely day in this laid-back village in the countryside of Germany. Inhaling the fresh air I am taking a deep breath while appreciating my life. I couldn’t have imagined a better place to live in. A better place than this fairytale village.

I’ve never been a city girl. Couldn’t have ever imagined living in a big city. I’ve always loved being outdoors. Being active and going on adventures. But now more than ever have I learned to appreciate the connection to nature.

Credit: Anne Bonfert

The beginning

I hadn’t ever heard of this village before. How should I? It has barely 800 inhabitants and is hidden deep in the Odenwald. A forest located in the center of Germany. But neither had I heard about its closest city.

--

--

Anne Bonfert
Show Your City

I am a traveler. Photographer. Writer. Teacher. Skydiving instructor. Adventure enthusiast. Nature lover. And fell in love with the African continent.