Carson City, Nevada

A look around Nevada’s State Capital

Kim Zuch
Show Your City

--

Nevada’s State Capitol Building, decorated for Christmas. Photo take by the author.

Carson City is Nevada’s State Capital. It has some amazing historical buildings, including the Governor’s Mansion. It is close to Lake Tahoe and it is surrounded by miles of hiking, mountain biking, and four-wheel-drive trails.

I’ve lived in Nevada for 9 years now and I’ve spent four of those years in Carson City. My husband was born and raised here and we both love the area.

The city is growing quickly, but it still has a small town feel. The downtown area has locally-owned coffee shops, art galleries, antique stores, and restaurants. A small farmer’s market operates during the summer and fall.

I was just getting to know and love the local arts community when the pandemic hit, so I’m looking forward to attending more concerts and other community events in the future.

Early history and how the city got its name

According to carson.org, Carson City was founded in 1858. It is located in Eagle Valley, which was once close to the western edge of the Utah Territory. Eagle Valley was settled by ranchers and a community grew around the Eagle Station Trading Post starting in 1851.

Explorer John C. Fremont named the nearby river after his guide Christopher “Kit” Carson. The…

--

--

Kim Zuch
Show Your City

I write about nature, birdwatching, the outdoors, and conservation issues. I like to share pictures and sometimes my dogs show up. Twitter: @kimclawson2