Discovering Port Vila, Vanuatu

Anne Harrison
Show Your City
Published in
7 min readJan 8, 2023

--

Arriving Port Vila © A. Harrison

Visiting Port Vila turned into one of those unexpected days which prove the delight of travelling.

Although the islands of the South Pacific are beyond beautiful, too often the larger towns wear a dusty, run-down air. Having spent the previous day snorkelling with reef fish and sea turtles, I had little desire to go ashore when the boat pulled into port. The rain refused to vanish, and there were no shuttles into town, though a gauntlet of taxis waited for anyone brave enough to venture forth. It’s a scene repeated many a time around the world, and always disheartening.

A stretch of markets along the port, however, offered some temptation. Every market I explored in the South Pacific offered a relaxing way to pass some time. With the prices firmly set there is no haggling, and I was neither hassled nor offered ‘special’ prices should I dare turn away. I simply wandered at my leisure with no pressure to buy — indeed, once or twice I had to hunt down the stall owner to pay them! Australian dollars were more freely accepted than US dollars, with the exchange rate often treated as interchangeable.

Vanuatu totems © A. Harrison

As I strolled my husband was surrounded by a dozen taxi drivers. In the time it…

--

--

Anne Harrison
Show Your City

At 10 I discovered travel, books and philosophy. Now I pass my days with a camera in one hand, a notebook in the other, looking for the perfect coffee.