Hello, I’m Kitzbühel!

And I’m about to seduce you

Daniele Ihns
Show Your City

--

If you like church bells, you’ll like this place! Image source: Wikimedia Commons

They call me Monaco of the Alps. I take that as an offense. How dare they compare me with that ugly pile of architectural mistakes? I’m sorry for the harsh introduction. I’m not normally this grumpy. But these labels really make me lose my temper.

**Note from the author: she does have a bit of an attitude.

Tschuldigung! Just because some millionaires like to take advantage of me, it doesn’t mean that we like each other. They don’t define me. I am much more than that!

**Oops, she heard me. Sorry, please continue…

In 2021, I’ll be 750 years old. Yes, I’m medieval. And I like it. A lot has happened since the time of our first Bavarian settlers.

We make cooler architectural mistakes than Monaco

It feels like yesterday when in 1566 we ordered a 6-ton church bell only to realize later that it was too big for our church tower. Luckily there was no Twitter at that time, can you imagine the hashtags?

We hung the bell on a temporary wooden structure for 50 years until we decided what to do with it.

There was no way we were going to mess with the architecture of our gorgeous baroque church so we had an idea. We built a brand new tower…

--

--

Daniele Ihns
Show Your City

Journalist and Cultural Critic. Experimental human. Humoristic rhymer. Relationship guinea pig.