How I Ended Up in a European Fairytale Town on Accident

A day prior, I had no idea this Belgian town even existed.

Adam J. Cheshier
Show Your City

--

Photo by Maria Jesus Errazuriz on Unsplash

Six months after entering Europe on a student visa, I was ready to take on some backpacking. That journey started in Belgium.

Brugge was the first stop on an unwritten ‘list to see’ while I was in Belgium. But, the truth is, I had not even heard about Brugge until the day before I went to Brugge.

I nearly missed out on what is a quaint little town in the heart of Belgium. And a magnificent place that deserves to be visited on any Euro-trip.

A little about Brugge. . .

Brugge is in the north of Belgium and sits only 10 miles from the English Channel. The city has about 120,000 people living in it.

The people of Brugge speak Dutch like its Flanders neighbors, Ghent and Antwerp. But, you would be hardpressed to find anyone not capable of speaking English. Especially within the city center.

First impressions

My first impression of Brugge was that it is easy to navigate. The city center is within walking distance of the station. You shouldn’t need a map or public transportation to get there.

--

--

Adam J. Cheshier
Show Your City

Documenting obscure pockets of the world across long-distance overland expeditions. Recently celebrated 7 years of nomadism. https://linktr.ee/adam.cheshier