The City Between Mountains and Sea

Cape Town — the heart of South Africa

Anne Bonfert
Show Your City

--

Credit: Anne Bonfert

Thinking back at the time I spent in Cape Town I don’t remember much of the city itself. I remember mountains. I remember beaches. I remember lots of wind. I remember endless roads along the coastline. I remember passing an ostrich on the ocean road and tasting salt in the air.

That’s what I think of when someone mentions the capital of South Africa.

I’ve visited the city on the southern point of Africa twice. From the second visit, I lost all the pictures. Somewhere along copying them from the camera onto my tablet, then onto a USB-Stick and later onto the hard drive they got lost. The folder never made it onto the hard drive.

What I remember most from my second visit is that the whole cape was in full bloom. It was spring in South Africa and the mountains were covered in mostly yellow flowers.

I guess that would be a reason to go back there. To take new photographs and save them this time. To make new memories. To visit new places and those I’ve liked the most previously.

Credit: Anne Bonfert

The city

--

--

Anne Bonfert
Show Your City

I am a traveler. Photographer. Writer. Teacher. Skydiving instructor. Adventure enthusiast. Nature lover. And fell in love with the African continent.