The City I Thought Was Dubai.

The City Of Abuja

Reginald Ben-Halliday
Show Your City

--

Abuja city gate

The sound of my alarm clock blaring on my bedside table very early in the morning on a Saturday, meant two things. One, it was 5 in the morning and two, the first bus traveling to Abuja would be leaving an hour from that time.

I pulled myself from my bed and hurried to the bathroom to have a quick shower. It was going to be my first time traveling to the Federal capital of Nigeria to spend the holiday with a relative. I was very excited for the trip. I placed my luggage in my father’s car and we drove off to the bus station.

It was the second week of the month December, I could feel the harmatan(cold, but dusty breeze) creeping into the city I grew up in, the city of Port-Harcourt. Nothing interesting was happening in Port Harcourt especially during Christmas. Most of the people here usually travel out to various place to spend their holiday. Some travel to their villages, while some leave the country.

We got to the Bus station. The place was rowdy, a lot of people where traveling today as well. I was rushed by some rough looking guys, asking where I was going. “Calabar! Kano! Lagos!” they yelled to my face. One of them attempted to take my luggage from me. I was 16 at the time, so it was easy for any of those guys to have pulled my bag and run with it. But my father stepped in, pulled…

--

--