Travel. Guatemala. Antigua.

Why It’s Impossible Not to Fall in Love with Antigua, Guatemala

Discover the magic of a captivating Spanish colonial city living in the shadow of volcanoes

Sh*t Happens - Lost Girl Travel
Show Your City
Published in
5 min readMar 22, 2024

--

A typical street view in Antigua, Guatemala (Photo credit to the author)

I just love that simple magical feeling of arriving somewhere new.

Feeling the cobblestone street massage the soles of my feet as I stepped off the bus. Rubbing the sleep from my eyes to the sudden illumination from the colour-drenched colonial one-story buildings. Turning my head to gasp at Volcán de Fuego rising above the city, overlooking its domain below. It was exhaling ominous plumes of cloud-like smoke like a beautiful but dangerous mythical creature, warning you that, yes, I am still active. This incredible volcano was not the only one, several of these fire-breathing dragons swept the outskirts of the city.

This was the moment I fell in love with Antigua. Love at first sight.

Joe and I, feeling happy wandering the streets of Antigua, Guatemala — (Photo credit to the author)

The city is a joy to walk around and that was one of the very first things we did. The free walking tour was simply lovely, learning all about the triumphs and tragedies of this city, looking…

--

--

Sh*t Happens - Lost Girl Travel
Show Your City

Hi! I’m Georgie and I share travel stories of when sh*t happens. I think that sometimes the worst things that happen to you traveling, are often the funniest