Ding

Rapti Gupta
SHPOOKIES — Short Horror Stories
2 min readJul 19, 2022
Ding

Buck and Cindy had been fighting for over a week now. He wanted to take up his dream job and move to a new city but Cindy was uncomfortable with it.

The couple is having a heated argument over texts. Cindy’s in the bedroom; Buck’s in the living room. They just cannot have a conversation without yelling at each other so they chose to take the fight to texts!

Buck: “It’s not that I value my success over your happiness and comfort; It’s just that there’s so much on the table right now. It was important for me to take this job up and this is going to make us really happy! I thought you’d be onboard.”

Cindy: “Do you even know what would make me happy? You didn’t even discuss this with me. You just assumed that I’m going to be okay with this decision, pack everything up and leave? Do I have any say at all in your life?”

Buck: “Of course you do! I just thought you’d be happy that I landed this job so quick. It’s paying well, we could start afresh — in fact you could begin your influencer business from home! I’ve already seen some pretty amazing apartments that I know you’re gonna love.”

Cindy: “This just proves my point. You’ve even looked at homes without telling me? This relationship is all about you. There’s literally 0 space for me. I always have to live my life on your terms. And I’m not okay with that. I don’t think I will ever be. If I had to leave, I think it’s best I leave you. You clearly don’t understand what I want. Why am I even with you?!”

This was the first time Cindy mentioned leaving him.

Cindy: “gefkwdmc psdv eldkqjwdjd whd oj ? iqhwdbqkms ib dysdvjwnsc?”

Cindy: “povmdfvbmdfgn onddgbndkd kwefgief wjwlkc sjd cjwdbc jdhfgjwhebjwne wkdbfjwhefbmsdc kwjefgiwebfmwfveigvejnf wdbcwkfrhkwdfc fskdbfgfnsd flskdvnfkdsjhgfierfbksnfd ekrutiejbdvier”

Buck: “Okay! What the fuck now?”

Cindy: “vcwhd ckwjrgiuegrjnwd clsdghoejrbgkedvbueygfwjefnveoifghlmd cwfwf clshnsknqbafdonf ddvbdndmkkkilllmsnsnshsgvebcsjkdv,smxcv ,xmcv d whdf kwjerthyekjdfn,smdhgteiorng.d,fbhpfgotiuh;flgmnfllf”

There was a loud thud from the bedroom. It startled Buck. He went over to the bedroom and knocked on the door.

Buck: Babe, are you alright?

His phone keeps dinging.

Cindy: “dbddorkgbnlrgkt lgmn toihjowfSAnvcfuwyrjqwh fsdkfgiuhoeritnh,fmb kendg biw4u5yi4wjc,SM cflaeirghkds fvbkdzjfhgoserhgdmvlaerhtoering,dmnvserityoaenrg;JKBRGSRTUYSKJDNVAK;JBnfn vnfkhevdbjghgetryrfkllllllabaav1838.”

ding.

ding.

ding.

More gibberish texts. Another loud thud and a painful scream.

Buck is now worried. What is happening?!

He tries the door knob. It was unlocked.

Cindy is lying in bed. Her phone is on charge on the table across the bed. She is at least 4 feet away from her phone.

She sits up. Looks at him and smiles.

ding.

It’s from Cindy.

“GET OUT OF THE HOUSE! NOW! That is not me.”

--

--