My first real artwork

Shuchi Muley
shuchimuleyart
Published in
2 min readSep 5, 2014

Thanks to my teacher Sadie (http://www.sadievaleri.com/), who has a lot of patience while teaching me how to create a still life. I am learning the Flemish Technique of indirect painting. It was developed by the Dutch Masters of the 17th century. Cool right ! So here we go

Here’s what my final painting looks like:

Final artwork

Here are the different stages my painting went through:

Stage 1: Sketching

Sketch

In this stage i worked on my drawing from a still life setup. The solid and transparent jar combination was my favorite. It taught me a lot about how transparent objects appear or behave with respect to other objects.

Stage 2: The Open Grisaille Layer

Here’s where i used burnt umber and little Turp to paint my first layer. I transferred my drawing on to a panel before starting this layer.

Then came the Closed Grisaille layer

Stage 3: Closed Grisaille Layer

At this stage, I started with the shades of grey.

Here’s a half done picture of how i moved from a open grisaille to a closed.

Stage 4: Color

This was my favorite layer which went on for a while. It was the toughest one too :| I kept adding more and more details to get the final look. And tadaa !!

--

--