Accountability in Data Sharing

Data Security

Last week, I received a letter from a university I applied to over three years ago, reading as follows:

Dear Alexandra,

[University] understands the importance of protecting the privacy and security of the information we maintain. We are writing to inform you about a data security incident that may have involved some of your information including your name and Social Security number.

While I skimmed the words on the page, I had a rather unexpected reaction — I wasn’t surprised.

In 2019 alone there were 164.68 million records exposed in the United States. Data security breaches are becoming common occurrences within our society and as I reflected on the situation I asked myself: how accountable are we with our personal data?

In Danah Boyd and Kate Crawford’s piece Critical Questions for Big Data, they wrote, “Instead, accountability is a multi-directional relationship: there may be accountability to superiors, to colleagues, to participants, and to the public.” Boyd and Crawford argue stakeholders within Big Data all play a special role, and in one way or another carry some accountability for this data.

When I applied to the college, I knowingly agreed and consented to my personal data being disclosed. However, what I didn’t sign up for was this data to be viewed and possibly mishandled by unauthorized persons putting my own security and privacy at risk. I was accountable for sharing this information, but the University was accountable for protecting it from malicious intent.

As technology grows, data is becoming a new form of currency whether it be from secure University databases, social media accounts, or available online records. Sharing data with others is a give and take dichotomy — when we supply our information we are also giving up some of our privacy, however, we trust it is safely secure. We may not have full control of our data, but we can take preventative measures to protect ourselves. Here are a few steps I’ve taken to hold myself accountable:

  1. Use secure URLs starting with https:// when online
  2. Read and understand the terms of use and privacy policies of platforms you visit
  3. Make your social media accounts private
  4. Install anti-virus software on your mobile devices and computer
  5. Be cautious of what personal information you share online (especially through social media)

Running away from technology won’t stop unethical data practices from occurring, however, educating ourselves can put us in a better position to prevent them from happening and increase protection. It’s important to hold ourselves responsible for what we can control in relation to our personal data. What steps have you taken to hold yourself accountable?

--

--