I’m tired too…

Mel Rose
Sick Dude Stories
Published in
1 min readDec 27, 2022

No, you’re not. I promise.

Photo by Camila Quintero Franco on Unsplash.

Fatigue swells inside of my head,
behind my eyes,
clogs one ear only to pour itself out the other.

Don’t tell me you know how I feel.
Have you ever felt pain from fatigue?

It is real.

It is real
to have to talk yourself through every breath,
encouraging yourself to keep going,
to keep breathing.

Does breathing happen naturally
or do our lungs have a limit too?

Typing away in the darkness my eyelids create,

I cannot keep them open.

But

I cannot keep my eyes closed.

My accordion mind folds,
crinkles,
drags thoughts out
only to push them too far back in
and I forget.

Did the thought even matter?

Did the thought even need me?

Did I need it
for such
a fleeting moment?

Don’t tell me you know how I feel.
Is pain from fatigue real?

Yes,
it is real.

--

--

Mel Rose
Sick Dude Stories

I'm not going to allow death to accomplish it's goal before I've accomplished mine.