5 Things Peyton Manning Can Teach You About Entrepreneurship

Sid Viswanathan
Sid Speaking
5 min readMar 8, 2016

--

This year I had the privilege to attend and witness Peyton Manning’s final game in Super Bowl 50. Over the past 18 years, I have watched (on TV) close to 100 games that Peyton has played in and have come to admire many aspects of his professionalism and dedication to the game. Whether or not you root for Peyton or even watch football at all, it is undeniable that as he enters retirement, we can all learn and apply something from his career. Here are 5 things Peyton can teach you specifically about entrepreneurship.

1. Enjoy the Journey

As startup founders, employees, and investors it’s very easy to get caught up and focussed on the big “win” or “exit.” But what stood out to me profoundly in Peyton’s retirement speech was his love for the journey, and his true enjoyment in the day-to-day life of football. In fact, there was little mention of his Super Bowl wins and far more about the interactions with his teammates, coaches, and fans.

“So here are the seemingly little things that when I look into my rearview mirror, have grown much bigger. I’m going to miss a steak dinner at St. Elmo’s in Indianapolis after a win. Reggie sitting on top of the bench next to me. Perfecting a fake handoff to Edgerrin James. I’ll miss Demaryius Thomas telling me that he loved me and thanking me for coming to Denver after every touchdown I threw to him. I’ll miss picking out the game balls with my equipment guys. I’ll miss recapping the game with my dad. And checking to see if the Giants won and calling Eli as we’re both on our team buses. I’ll miss that handshake with Tom Brady and I’ll miss the plane rides after a big win with 53 teammates standing in the aisles, laughing and celebrating during the whole flight.”

Whenever I meet a founder/entrepreneur who is chasing the next win or what he/she will chase after his/her big win, it’s a clear sign to me that they are not enjoying the journey. In my experience, the most successful founders are obsessed with their current journey and are enjoying every minute of it. If you don’t truly enjoy the little things along the way you won’t be able to appreciate the victory at the end of the long road.

2. Preparation Beats Talent

Despite being the #1 pick in the 1998 NFL draft, Peyton Manning never possessed the physical talents of the best quarterbacks in the game. In fact, his speed was often mocked, his agility was sometimes embarrassing, and by most accounts didn’t have a strong enough arm (especially later in his career).

What Peyton lacked in physical abilities, he more than compensated for in his preparation for the game. The tens of thousands of hours watching film and becoming a true master of his craft is what ultimately enabled Peyton to reach unprecedented heights in the NFL. Above all the awards and accolades, Peyton will go down as the greatest student of the game.

In the technology world, you can always look across the seat from you and find an incredible amount of talent. In the San Francisco Bay area, you will constantly find people that are way smarter and more talented than you. At times it can be overwhelming, but if you can master your own craft and continue to be a student of entrepreneurship, you will put yourself in a position to have a chance at winning.

3. Find a Mentor

When you are one of the greatest quarterbacks of all time, who do you look up to for mentorship? Joe Montana? Tom Brady your rival? What became apparent in Peyton’s speech is that he found mentorship from many of the coaches around him that enabled him to become better at his craft.

“Over my NFL career, I’ve had five head coaches who have helped me become better at my craft and have helped me become a better human being: Jim Mora, Tony Dungy, Jim Caldwell, John Fox, Gary Kubiak.”

As founders, it’s great to have successful entrepreneurs that you aspire to become someday providing you mentorship. But in my experience, the best mentors are not trying to help you reach their level of success, they are helping you reach your own highest potential which may be even higher. A mentor does not need to be a great entrepreneur, and finding the people in your life that can help you reach your highest potential is the key to finding a great mentor.

4. Taking a Leap of Faith

Coming off a year sidelined from injury and multiple neck surgeries, it would have been very easy for Peyton Manning to have retired at the end of his tenure in Indianapolis. What else did Peyton have left to prove and what’s the likelihood he will succeed on another team? In Peyton’s own worlds, if he knew the outcome of his decision, it would have been a very easy choice at the time.

“When I visited Denver four years ago, if John Elway had sat me down and said, ‘Peyton, here’s what we’re going to do. We’re going to win over 50 games, win four straight division championships, lose only three division games in four years and none will be on the road, we’ll beat the Patriots in two championship games and you’re going to win another Super Bowl [and set numerous records along the way]”

But Peyton couldn’t have known this, he simply had to take a leap of faith. As entrepreneurs, you are often in the same situation and you just don’t know if you will win or succeed in the end. But if you can fall in love with the journey, then you will surely find the courage to take the leap of faith.

5. Find Your Life’s Work

It’s amazing to think that with the advances in science and medicine, Peyton still has more than 50% of his life left at age 39. When you are as successful as Peyton, it’s very easy to look back retrospectively and see that football was obviously his “life’s work.” But for Peyton, his dedication to football started a long time ago, and his life’s work started at a very young age without him even knowing it.

Sure, it’s easier when you come from a family of football greatness and pedigree, but there’s an important lesson to be learned. In my experience, the most successful and inspiring founders found purpose in their work far before they had their first big “win.” It was well before creating LinkedIn, that Reid Hoffman thought deeply about social networks and how they will impact the world. As founders and entrepreneurs, finding your “life’s work” is probably the hardest thing you can do, and something I constantly think about.

“Luck is when preparation meets opportunity”

This is one of my favorite quotes of all time. And In my lifetime, I can’t think of a more fitting person that embodied every sense of this quote than Peyton Manning.

Happy Birthday Dad!

Note: This is not my Dad, but my friend Nick End :) Today just happens to be my Dad’s birthday and inspired me to write this.

--

--