Chris Rock Tamborine

Alfons
Side A
Published in
4 min readMay 29, 2018

Finally finished watched Chris Rock’s Tamborine. It’s super witty and funny. My type of jokes.

And…spare some time to write about it.

The opening bit is directly to the point. Concerning police brutality to black communities.

“You would think the cops would occasionally shoot a white kid just to make it look good?”

There are some interesting information/statistic cards from Vox regarding police shootings in the US. https://www.vox.com/cards/police-brutality-shootings-us/us-police-shootings-statistics

Chris Rock is great at making people laugh. Several bits later…

“Being a cop is a hard job. Honestly, I don’t think they pay police enough.

And you get what you pay for.”

And continued with “bad apple” joke. Concerning there shouldn’t be many “bad apple” and then he mention what if there are some “bad apple” around pilot. Damn. It’s funny but also scary. Especially related to recent news in Indonesia where several pilots surfaced on the news with their radical point of view.

The jokes related to education are quite dark. Haha.

“They could be anything they wanna be. Shut the f*** up.”

Chris Rock believes (and I started to believe to) that we need to tell kids the truth.

“You can be anything you’re good at,

as long as they are hiring.”

And then about having a black kids. I guess at many points relate to me as part of minorities in my home-country.

The next funny part is about the importance of bullies at school.

“The school is supposed to prepare you for life.

Life has assholes.

And you should learn how to deal with them as soon as possible.”

“ You think kids were nice to Bill Gates in high school?”

Hahaha.

And yeah I gotta agree with this:

I like how the bullies jokes bridge to Trump.

And then continued to religion.

I agree that religion is kinda like salt.

Followed by religious extremist bit.

I also agree with his example of believing in God.

“I haven’t been to church in ten years.

Now that’s believing in God.

Shit, you go every week ’cause you don’t trust God”

Hahaha.

I laugh a lot on that part. I think it really hits many people.

For me, I guess since near graduation I feel that going to church shouldn’t be a routine. Well, might write more about that sometimes later. Haha.

The second half of Tamborine show is quite sad, because Chris Rock tells more about his divorce and relationship.

“There is no equality in a relationship. You’re both there to serve. You are in the service industry. When you’re in a relationship, you’re in a band. And when you’re in a band, you have roles that you play in the band.

Sometimes you sing lead and sometimes you’re on tambourine. Play your role right.

Nobody wants to see a mad tambourine player.”

And then the truth that we can’t miss nobody in 2017, because we can get many things from the device in our pocket. Relationship these days is so different with 10 to 20 years ago. But yeah, with less contact actually we can miss someone more. Haha.

Near the end of the show, interesting bit about the bitter truth on love for men. Hahaha.

And then the peace wisdom. Haha.

Well… I’m kinda in-between now. Hahaha.

Peace.

Thanks Chris Rock for the awesome show on Netflix. Hopefully you find your peace. Haha.

--

--