How Not To Drown In A Glass of Water — #booknotes

Alfons
Side A
Published in
4 min readMay 18, 2023

An immigrant that has been laid-off after 25 years working in a factory. The factory was moved to outside US following the downfall of the US financial crisis 2008. She is enlisted for Senior Workforce Program that consisted of 12 sessions of counseling to assess if she is job ready or not.

Cover design by Lauren Peters-Collaer

She started her session wonderfully:

My name is Cara Romero, and I came to this country because my husband wanted to kill me. Don’t look so shocked.

Cara is 56 years old. The stories she told within each session revealed her struggle as an immigrant, but also filled with witty commentary about life, loss, work, family, relationship, and many things.

We step in the shit on purpose so we’re forced to buy new shoes.
You know what I’m saying?

The book is an enjoyable read because even though it’s formatted in a 12 counseling sessions, the side-track stories and the tiny bits of Cara’s life are actually interesting. A lot of them felt relatable, and I like the funny bits.

Like this one:

That’s what therapists make you do. They make you spit on your mother. Everything is the mother’s fault.

Prior to the third session, she was obliged to make an account for unemployment insurance benefits. Her response are hilarious.

What was your favorite comic book/cartoon character as a child? Books? Cartoons?
Child? Ha! We were never children.

What band poster did you have on a wall when you were in high school?
It’s true that the Americans don’t have any idea of what life is for us.

Cara also told the story of overworking conditions she went through almost all her life; and how for most people there are no other choices than keep working.

The doctor said we should all take breaks, even for one minute: a break every thirty minutes, to stretch the legs and the hands. Very important. If not, we’ll have the pain. Sitting all day is more bad for the health than smoking a cigarette. But we’re not permitted to stop working so we can stretch our legs. And no note from the doctor was going to convince el jefe. Look, when they started laying off people, we never stopped, even to use the bathroom.

That paragraph actually got me thinking should I sit too much, almost everyday?

I like also how the stories of the neighborhood tangled each other in Cara’s life. Especially after her son left her. It also showed that being part of community can be a cursed or a blessing for most immigrant community. The environment around us truly able to strengthen or weaken us.

There are some deep reflection on Session Nine:

Do you ever have that feeling? When you need something to wake you up?

Sometimes life feel very small and other times feel very rich. And when it feels small I think it’s because I don’t let myself enjoy life.

Throughout the session, it feels like Cara is an incredible woman that shows what a resilience is. It’s not easy, being over 50 years old, with all the curveballs that life throw to us.

However, there is a sweet story about when her neighbor (the oldest in the neighborhood) tell her:

…we must not wait to live the life we want. Find a way to be present with people you love.

The kind parts in Cara’s story also felt gentle.

…but, I must be careful to want too much in this life. This is the lesson. We must appreciate what we have.

I know, I am not just lucky. You are very good to remind me of this. I work hard all the time. You are right I must take some credit for this.

After all 12 Sessions, there is also a follow up conversation with the counselor two months after. And I gotta agree with The Atlantic’s review that:

For anyone facing their own dark days, it’s a profoundly encouraging experience.

Spoiler for the last words…

Photo by Manki Kim on Unsplash

.

.

.

…no matter how difficult my life is, I have always found a solution to my problems. When I think about this, I am not afraid.
We can do this. I can do it.

.

.

I think it’s a truly encouraging book.

Thank you, Angie Cruz.

--

--