Taking a Step Back

Alfons
Side A
Published in
3 min readNov 9, 2020

I feel like I’ve consumed a lot in the past month. It was a good break. I guess the break was about a mix between “fear of missing out” and “trying to absorb a lot of stuff”. There are a lot of interesting stuff, some old and some fresh. I’ve read and watched some stuff related to mindfulness too, trying to stay sane in the midst of this pandemic. I’ve written a bit as well about trying to reduce multi-tasking. The past weekend, I still spent some time on Instagram. I saw one post from TED. I guess it was at the right time, because I am trying to write a bit about mindfulness. The talk is presented by Andy Puddicombe, he is the co-founder of an app related to mindfulness called Headspace.

A lot of people assume that meditation is about emptying our mind and emotion. Andy, have been a monk himself, said it’s more about taking a step back. It’s taking a step back to observe and experience our thoughts and emotions without judgement; but with a relaxed, focused mind. This TED Talk was from seven years ago, but it’s still relevant.

It wasn’t too far from my first observation of his video, I saw another post in LinkedIn by Satya Nadella. Microsoft is having a partnership with Headspace to have a wellbeing features to Microsoft Teams. For me, the post is a good reminder to start small. I re-shared the post with a question:

When was the last time we eat without distractions?

I’ve tried to continue to put my phone away while eating. To be more grateful for the food, and be more mindful about what I eat, how I eat, and how much I should eat. As usual, it’s easier said than done. But, it’s good to know that I want to learn to be more mindful. It’s good to start small.

I know it will not magically solve all life problems overnight, but I like what Headspace try to convey in their beginner’s guide:

It offers a pocket of stillness amid all the outer chaos.

I know that most of the times the chaos is inevitable. It’s interesting that we can learn how to balance, to allow thoughts and emotions come and go, to try to have an open mind and see things from different perspective. As Andy said it by the end of his TED Talk:

We can’t change every little thing that happens to us in life,

but we can change the way we experience it.

I would like to continue write a bit about my recent present. I know, there is still some uncertainties. But, at least, in most mornings I can have a walk and enjoy the warmth of the sun with some trees around. I know mostly I spent it while listening to music or podcast, but I also have an option to take it off, step back for a while, and try to listen to the “little park” while it’s still here.

Little park nearby.

I know there is a way to step forward and I believe it’s always funny how things work out. Maybe I will write a bit about that later too.

It’s a quote from the movie Forrest Gump. The photo is a meaningful personal collection.

--

--