What Does It Really Mean to be Patient?

Alfons
Side A
Published in
5 min readJul 22, 2021

I feel like I need to ask this.
Especially to myself. For awhile, I thought I am patient enough in my life.
But, I know I am not that patient.

I have read about and try to understand what patience is quite a lot. Because it really is a hard thing to do in many aspects of life. In daily life, in career, in investment, in relationship, in crafting hobbies, and many more.

How about you…?
What’s your thought on patience?

This July 2021, football helped me once more to learn about patience. The lesson emerge from an unexpected source but paradoxically it is quite expected. The lesson is from a player with probably the loneliest position in football, a goalkeeper. The man is Emi Martinez. It was only in 2020 I started knowing him. The Argentine man is the second goalkeeper in Arsenal Football Club. I deeply need to take a lesson on patience from him.

He was signed by Arsenal when he was just 17 years old in 2010. But, most football fans will understood that being the main goalkeeper in a big club is not easy. For his development, he is loaned to several clubs. But, still, he was not getting into the number one goalkeeper. In 2017, he was loaned to Getafe for one season and then he continued to be loaned to Reading in 2019.

A decade passed from his first arrival at the club, he finally got his chance as the first pick due to Bern Leno’s injury. In the middle of 2020, he played a vital role to strengthen Arsenal defence and winning FA Cup 2020. The fans loved him. The club legend like Ian Wright praised him high. Unfortunately, that led to a dilemma for Arsenal because it seems that as a club they prefer Leno as the first goalkeeper and Martinez second. Martinez would love to stay, but he also has his dream to be the main goalkeeper for his country. So, he also needs minutes of play as the first team.

His farewell video in his Instagram is filled with so much wisdom.

Seasons after seasons I always try to come back to the club I love to have my chance.
I was mentally prepared. Over the years I tried to work on my mental side, to overcome my frustrations, to show to Arsenal fans what they missed. For me it was hard, but I know there is light at the end of the tunnel.

I am grateful with my time at Arsenal, even if it’s hard for me.

I want to show that hard work pays off. When you work hard, you’re not gonna happy the whole time. You’ll gonna have frustrations, and bad times in life. But you gotta pass that. And when you pass that, you gotta see your light. That’s what I saw when I won the FA Cup and Community Shield.

I am grateful to be part of Arsenal family for 11 years.

Arsenal also posted separate farewell video on their YouTube channel. You can feel how wise he is.

Emi Martinez on FA Cup win. Image from Squawka.

I’ve been a decade in the club, how hard I work for to have the chance that I had in the last few months. For me, 11 years with Arsenal is a great achievement.

When you give everything to the club, they will respect you. I am grateful to be the player and the person I am, because I came here as a single young boy from Argentina. And now I leave with my wife, a kid, and as a man. Everything is because of Arsenal.

Arsenal is one of the warmest club. I don’t want to leave without saying goodbye messages. I go on loan so many times, only to come back to give trophies to the fans and Arsenal.

It’s no surprise that the fans really respect him and miss him. I even glad that he had awesome season with Aston Villa 2020/2021. Without a doubt he became the first pick to guard Argentina’s goal. In Copa America semifinal, he is the hero for his country with his stellar performance and awesome swagger during penalty shootout. Emi intimidated Yerry Mina and successfully blocked Mina’s kick. The final is also dramatic because Brazil tried hard to score. But, Emi kept his goal clean for 90 minutes so Argentina became the winner.

Image from BR Football.

At the end of 2019–20 season, he only had 15 Premier League appearances across 10 seasons including six loans from Arsenal, won FA Cup and Community Shield winner. During 2020–21, he achieved15 Premier League clean sheets with Aston Villa, won Copa América with Argentina, and awarded with Golden Gloves trophy.

It really feels the light is getting brighter for Emi. I learned a lot to be patient and trust the process from him.

Image from Emi Martinez Twitter.

Recently, he even showed his admiration and his dream to help Lionel Messi win the trophy for Argentina.

Image from BR Football.

Thanks, Emi.
Wishing you great success for you, your country, and your club.
Arsenal fans will miss you a lot.

Image from BR Football.

Keep saving.

Image from Football Twts.

--

--