1 important reason you should never, ever build on just one online platform

JJ Money
Side Hustling
Published in
3 min readAug 10, 2023

--

The new Medium Partner Program has a lot of people excited, and for good reason.

For those in countries that have been added, it opens up a whole new world of potential earnings.

It appears the new system also really favors newer writers who produce a lot.

But for people with a large back catalog of stories that have been devalued by the new metrics, it’s been a steep fall.

My earnings have been cut by about 70%.

Is this frustrating? Yeah, sure!

But at the same time, I knew what I was getting into here.

Medium owns this platform and can do whatever it wants with it, just like my boss can tell me to come to the office if he wants.

We play by their rules.

This is likely a cautionary tale for many creators out there who’ve put all their eggs in one basket, however.

It demonstrates why you should never, ever build an online business on just one platform.

Your earnings can go up in smoke very quickly if you rely on just one platform. (Digital art credit: James J. Money/DallE2)

Diversifying

At first, I thought I was just being paranoid.

My health and fitness account, James Julian, was going gangbusters!

--

--

JJ Money
Side Hustling

Former journalist who writes about making money online, investing, and passive income. YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCC1k_0PYxesTxiD_QmjPp6w