3 ways I earn good money from YouTube without being monetized

J.J. Money
Side Hustling
Published in
5 min readMar 2, 2023

--

I earn a decent amount of money from YouTube even though I’m still 550 subscribers and 3,000 watch hours away from being monetized.

How do I accomplish that?

This is the power of what I call “stacking” your content.

One piece of work should have many layers of potential earning power.

Put another way, a piece of content born on one platform shouldn’t die there.

If you take the time to conceive of an idea and put in the effort to see it all the way through to the end, there’s no reason you shouldn’t push a little harder to reshape it for other platforms.

More platforms, more money

If you’re going to be in the content business, you should be trying to establish a presence on as many platforms as possible.

The more eyes you can get on your stuff, the more momentum you build for your work overall (and the more money you have the potential to make in the long run).

When I publish an article on Medium, I intend to eventually turn it into video content.

And when I publish a video on YouTube, my intention is to find ways to make money off it on other platforms until I actually do get the subscriber and watch hours I need for actual monetization.

Let me quickly walk you through the 3 ways I make money on YouTube without being monetized.

--

--

J.J. Money
Side Hustling

Former journalist who writes about making money online, investing, and passive income. YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCC1k_0PYxesTxiD_QmjPp6w