How to create your own cool publication on Medium (2023 tutorial + tips)

JJ Money
Side Hustling
Published in
1 min readAug 9, 2023

--

Recently, I told you why I never write for publications on Medium that I don’t personally own.

If you’re interested in my rationale, I’d invite you to check out this story in which I go through the 3 main reasons for that approach.

However, I do write for my own publications over at my main account James Julian.

So what’s the difference between writing for someone else’s publication and your own?

And why would I even bother separating my work into different publications anyway?

In order to answer those questions and more, I recently made a video explaining my strategy and offering a tutorial for anyone who’s interested in starting their own Medium publication in 2023.

I hope you enjoy it!

Thanks for watching! If you liked that video, there are 40 more like it over at my YouTube channel. Please take a moment to subscribe!

Looking for something to read instead? My most-read Medium tutorial posts:

  1. I made hundreds on Medium in my first full month
  2. You’re depressed about low views on Medium — here’s how to fix it
  3. Yep, you can still earn BIG money on Medium in 2023 (full tutorial and earnings)
Thumbnail from my YouTube video about Medium publications.

--

--

JJ Money
Side Hustling

Former journalist who writes about making money online, investing, and passive income. YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCC1k_0PYxesTxiD_QmjPp6w