My top 3 early lessons from trying to get monetized on YouTube

JJ Money
Side Hustling
Published in
2 min readMar 8, 2023

--

Trying to get monetized on YouTube is a grind, to say the least.

Unlike Medium, where the barrier to entry is a very low 100 followers and one published article, YouTube requires an intimidating 1,000 subscribers and 4,000 public watch hours.

I’d say a year is a realistic timeframe for hitting those thresholds.

But once you do, the passive income starts flowing and you can say you accomplished something really impressive!

Although I feel like I’m still so far away (I’m at 490 subscribers and 1,200 watch hours after 5 months), I also feel like I’m so far away from where I started.

If you’re thinking about starting the YouTube monetization quest or are already on your way, I made a video I think you might find useful. In it, I go over the top 3 early lessons I’ve learned on my own journey.

Here it is:

I hope you enjoyed the video — let me know in the comments!

If you really enjoyed it and want to see more content like this (including my many videos on writing on Medium), please take a moment to subscribe to my channel.

--

--

JJ Money
Side Hustling

Former journalist who writes about making money online, investing, and passive income. YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCC1k_0PYxesTxiD_QmjPp6w