NFT Community Profile: Tatyanna Dumas

Swickie
SIDECHAIN
Published in
7 min readAug 26, 2021

--

© Tatyanna Dumas

The first time I met Tatyanna Dumas was on video chat in the “green room” of @StephSutto and @Jennifer_Sutto’s Ladies Night stream. Her perfect posture broadcast the athleticism I was already aware she possessed from learning she was Australia’s Youngest Ninja Warrior (x 2).

She was poised and graceful like the sports model she’s become professionally, and her Aussie accent is cool and refreshing.

Yep, I was fangirling — it’s not every day I meet a well-rounded human being: an athlete, sports model, and businesswoman.

I’d been waiting so long to hear all about her story. It starts in a place called Redfern in Sydney, Australia via Argentina.

A decade ago, she says, it was not a place one would visit alone or travel to unless you knew or were one of the locals. There was a strong divide between the community and law enforcement. Her community was mostly surrounded by drug and alcohol abuse, open police brutality, and early teenage pregnancies. She shouldered a lot of responsibility as the oldest in a single-parent household and knew to stay out of trouble.

One way to stay out of trouble was to join sports.

“Sport kept me out of trouble even though I picked it up so late. When my friends were experimenting, I was training or at school, which kept my mind focused on what I could accomplish. It taught me about pain, mental resilience, self-awareness, how to lose and be relentless. I knew sport could keep me aware of the negative things surrounding me and knew it would make me a better person in the long run; I honestly owe sport my life.”

© Tatyanna Dumas

Her dedication to sports paid off in a big way — but before getting into that, it’s important to mention that she is also a life-long collector.

As a child, she collected sports cards, Yugi-Oh cards, Pokemon cards, and even the NRL Rugby cards that came in the Aussie chip packets that she describes as, “…the most fulfilling thing you could pick up and trade with.”

With sports and collecting at the front and center of her upbringing, it is only natural that Tatyanna would be drawn to NBA Top Shot. She credits the NFT space as fulfilling that “child-like nature to collect and create collections.” It quickly became clear to her that the financial opportunity and personal connections created in the NFT space could be made by the simple act of showcasing interest in NFTs themselves.

“NBA Top Shot was my first introduction to NFTs and was introduced by my partner in early February. It was a significant eye-opener to a space I didn’t know existed, and the only reason I had come across it was because of our love for the game. Being officially partnered with the NBA platform was reassuring and created a sense of safety that I hadn’t heard of in the crypto space. After Michael Jordan became an investor in the platform itself, I was sure he wouldn’t let it fail.”

Tatyanna arrived at Top Shot during peak passion and peak sales prices. The skyrocket was quickly brought back down to Earth by some Top Shot growing pains.

“Basketball is a part of my life and forever will be, so I haven’t given up on the platform because I believe this is a long-term investment. I’m currently using the Metaverse space to compensate for the lack of funds flowing through the market and accumulating more as I invest back into Top Shot. It’s a slow process, but Rome wasn’t built in a day.”

© Tatyanna Dumas

She loves that people in the NFT space have a genuine interest to connect, always willing to listen or interact. “We don’t take the time to learn about others, view different perspectives, encounter a vast variety of personalities or simply use the Art of Listening.”

Listening and observing is definitely one of her many strong suits.

You have to have those skills to excel in the ways she has. When you combine the discipline of an athlete and the smoke-and-mirrors of TV, your conviction needs to be solid as a rock and you must be decidedly thick-skinned. She is relatively private (in print) about her personal experience on the series even though it is an accomplishment worthy of hours-long stories.

“Everything you see on TV isn’t how it seems. I am proudly Australia’s Youngest Ninja for two consecutive seasons and will take that talent to another competition internationally.”

© Tatyanna Dumas

Her talents extend beyond competing in sports — she is also a keen businesswoman. Tatyanna believes that the NFT space has allowed individuals to really be themselves and interact and explore who they are with or without others.

“There is nothing above finding out who you truly are or even upgrading the person you are now and through this space, I’ve definitely grown as a person which has led me to develop a deep connection to the space itself.”

When I ask if this means she has plans to combine NFT with her love of fitness she enthusiastically shares, “Most definitely. There is definitely a way to infuse the two, and I’m creating something limited for those up for the ride — Stay ready!”

© Tatyanna Dumas

Tell us more about Tati Active and how that idea became a reality for you?

TATI ACTIVE (Twitter & IG) is a Fitness Brand personally run by myself that is on its course to launch on a broader scale, especially internationally. Brands like Nike and LES Mills are big inspirations for the creation of TATI ACTIVE.

The idea came to me as I watched others create financial wealth through minimal effort in the fitness industry and provided generic information or below standard customer service. Not to bash anyone for that matter, but these individuals were not as infused into the market nor as passionate as I am about its client’s progression or providing a quality service with my name on it.

I wanted to give back to the community in a BIG way.

This would be through showcasing that fitness was not just about paying for a program or a meal plan; it’s about the experience, the journey I can take you on, and finally, fulfilling your biggest fitness aspirations. Unfortunately, we’ve had major setbacks in providing our clients with quality content on our social media due to COVID-19, but we’re still taking clients and looking to come back bigger and better.

A newly formed YouTube channel, Tati On The Run, has appeared. How will you utilize it?

I created another channel that isn’t associated with my previous basketball showcases. A channel that will be as dynamic as I am in my daily life, from NFT discussions to workout plans with other athletes to gaming and even public challenges, is what will be up there! I want to create a little something for everyone and make it fun.

We all have more than one interest, and I want to share that with other individuals.

Yes, I’m aware that sticking to one niche is ideal, but I’m not a one-dimensional person and take pride in every aspect of my life. I want the audience to get to know me personally from a different point of view or situation, not just say, ‘That’s the Sheila (‘chick’) that does quick 5-minute HITT videos in short pink tights and has hella muscle,’ and that’s all I’m known for. Not to pull down anyone that doesn’t seem to mind that reality; it’s just NOT for ME! We’ll be coming out with that channel real soon.

If I know nothing else, I know Tatyanna’s project will be carefully crafted and every detail in place. It’s just the way she operates. I ask if she has any parting words before we sign off and her signature strength and confidence shines through, “If you don’t know the name yet, you better make sure you do.” I sure do.

You can follow Tatyanna on Twitter, Instagram, YouTube, and TatiActive.

--

--