The first time ever

混合奶兔
Sidenotes on my way to iOS developer
2 min readFeb 26, 2016

All right. After all this time, I am officially starting to write a technical blog. This is the first battle in my war against procrastination.

About a month ago, I started the iOS developer Nanodegree on Udacity. The “plus” version. I have known about Udacity almost from day one, and kept a close eye on their courses but never really dived in. Instead, most of my MOOC time has been spent on Coursera/Edx/CodeSchool since back in time, the main purpose was to expand my knowledge. Recently however, Udacity has released a new “plus” version on their Nanodegree program, which guarantees employment after graduation, or they will refund the tuition. A very attractive incentive I must say, and that’s why I made the jump. I have been thinking about making a career change for centuries but never made any solid effort. Nice to see you again my dear old Mr.Procrastination.

Wait. Write a technical blog from day one? I would rather write “hello world” for 8 hours. Seriously. I don’t remember from when but since long ago I developed a strange resistance to formal writing. I guess I can blame it on Twitter but, hey, who am I cheating?

/* Well, considering that this is a paid course, I think I should stick to it to the end no matter how much physical discomfort this will create at the rear part of my body. */

So here we are. I will keep two versions of this notebook, (one in English here at Medium, the other in Chinese at jianshu.com) to reach the largest audience. I have been told time after time that broadcasting something you are going to do is the best way to stick to it, because we always have a bunch of dearest friends who are ready to mock you to death if you give up half way.

*The Chinese version is here: http://www.jianshu.com/p/ad21845c4974

--

--

混合奶兔
Sidenotes on my way to iOS developer

Productivity nuts, learning Robotics on @Udacity and everywhere else. Write personal thoughts on those two topics.