Called To A Great Work

Markova Casseus
Social Impact Entrepreneurship Design
4 min readMar 19, 2019

“So I sent messengers to them, saying, “I am doing a great work, so that I cannot come down. Why should the work cease while I leave it and go down to you?” — Nehemiah 6:3

While I attended Syracuse University, I was exposed to many opportunities that have played a hand in my entrepreneurial journey today. One experience in particular that stands out is participating in the McNair Scholar Program, which allowed me the opportunity to conduct research on a topic of my choice. I started to develop an interest in entrepreneurship, and from there learned about social entrepreneurship which led to the idea I had for my research. I ended up interviewing eight African-American women who identified as social entrepreneurs and their reasons for pursuing social entrepreneurship.

You might be wondering what my research has to do with the scripture quoted above. I wanted to reference it because I believe Nehemiah’s account in the Bible and the purpose-driven organization that I am working on are related in so many ways.

In the midst of brainstorming what this purpose-driven platform will look and operate like, my pastor started a sermons series titled “The Mindset of a Builder,” based on the book of Nehemiah. For those who are unfamiliar, Nehemiah gives the account of a prophet called to build a wall to protect the city of God. While oppositions aroused, Nehemiah remained committed to the work that he was called to do. There are several lessons that can be taken from Nehemiah.

Sometimes you are called to do something outside of what you are used to do.

Nehemiah was working for the king when he heard about all that was happening in his hometown. Troubled by what his people were going through, Nehemiah felt the need to do something about it. Sometimes we can find ourselves living the life we “thought” we wanted, and then discover that there is something else that peaks our interest more. Having the courage to pursue that burning desire, not knowing what exactly you’re getting yourself into can be hard. I believe that is part of the reason why so many young women have trouble walking in their purpose today.

Nehemiah had a burden.

A burden is defined as “that which is borne with difficulty and obligation.” I think when we hear the word burden, we tend to connect it to something negative. However in the past few weeks, I started to see it differently. I now see a burden as something everyone walking in their purpose will experience at some point in their life, because the things we are called to are a burden to us. We feel called to do something to fix the injustices we see in education, criminal justice, or whatever industry we feel called to. Take Tonya Rapley, founder of My Fab Finance. After her own experience with financial abuse, she felt a burden to educate other women of color on their journeys to financial freedom. Sabrina Thompson, founder of KUU Productions found there were not enough stories circulating of the “underdogs” in the world, so she built it her business to combat that.

Left: Sabrina Thompson, Right: Tonya Rapley

Nehemiah, Tonya Rapley and Sabrina Thompson all had a burden. And quite frankly, you (yes you reading this) do too.

Walking in your purpose takes commitment.

As I mentioned earlier, when opposition arose, Nehemiah stayed the course to get the work done. For young women of color, opposition can take many different forms. Sometimes that opposition comes from acquaintances, who question your ability to do the work you want to do. Sometimes it can come from your family, who are not supportive of the path you want to take. Sometimes the opposition is yourself, doubting the voice that is burning from the inside of you. As I am going through this journey to entrepreneurship, what I am learning is that I have to stay committed to the process in order to fulfill the call on my life.

There are so many more lessons that can be taken from Nehemiah, but I think these three speak to what my business, tentatively named “Purpose Illuminated” is being created to do, and who it is being created for.

Purpose Illuminated seeks to offer professional and personal development advice to young women of color in three ways: a website, a variety of workshops and professional shadow days to expose young women of color to the careers of their choices. I would love to hear about your experiences, and what would be important to highlight as I build this platform.

--

--