The Vital Role of Community in Brain Health Support: Part 1

Lance Powers
Open Labs
Published in
4 min readMay 3, 2017

May is Mental Health Month. We are hosting the Brain Crawl as a part of Boulder Startup Week so the startup community can come together and talk about the realities and the successes that are possible with brain health challenges.

If you would have told me 10 years ago that I would be writing a post discussing my Bipolar disorder for my friends, coworkers, and entire community to see, I wouldn’t have believed you. Thanks to the hard work of the Front Range community, I am not only comfortable writing this post, I am proud.

I am grateful to the Front Range tech community for not labeling me as the ‘crazy guy’. On the contrary, you’ve embraced me.

You welcomed me back to recovery with open arms and open conversations during Denver Startup Week, you encouraged me while I spoke about my disorder during lightning talks at Galvanize, and not only did you support me through my ups and downs during the Techstars 2016 program, you brought together an entire cohort to join me.

Now, I am proud to be that little voice saying, ‘hey, you really are not alone’ to entrepreneurs, who are two times as likely to be impacted by a brain (mental) illness. This creative, inspiring, and often ‘crazy’ community has been given a set of gifts that are sometimes accompanied by illness. But as a suicide survivor with a Bipolar disorder, I know that we don’t have to fear these illnesses. We can learn to manage them and thrive (and sometimes even outperform our neurotypical peers:) )

Although thriving is possible, it isn’t the norm. Despite the over 80% effective treatments for brain illness, our community has lost lives over the past year because people were afraid to ask for help. The problem is less about the disorder and more about the way we handle it. I believe the Boulder community can change that and make thriving the norm. We have something special here in Boulder, something that gives us a leg up. We have leaders speaking up about their own struggles, we support each other in difficult times, and we #GiveFirst.

On Wednesday, May 17th, we are celebrating that community and how the conversation is changing from one of tragedy to one of hope and success. In celebration of Mental Health Month, join us for an event during Boulder Startup Week to talk about the brighter side of brain health.

We’re kicking off the event at Shine Gathering Space where Amy Reichlin will bring her diverse background as a Naropa Psychologist and Kellogg MBA to give us unique perspective on feelings and business. Impact Founder’s multimedia art exhibit will feature local founders, their stories, and a splash of Virtual Reality. Finally, Brad Feld and Jerry Colonna will be having a guided AMA with attendees. With a lineup like that you’d be crazy (teehee) to miss it.

I’ve been given a chance that not many with a Bipolar disorder have. With access to the very best of treatment and training for my brain disorder, I have something equivalent to an unofficial PhD in recovery, and now I get to work with leaders and experts in the field every day. With all of that, the one thing I know to be absolutely true is that a supportive community is vital to recovery.

Of course you already know that, after all you are the community who helped teach me that in the first place. Well, I’m counting on you to do it again. This time not just for me, but for all of us who live with a brain disorder.

We can build a place where we live openly and thrive with hope for our future, but we can’t do it without you. So come learn new things, show your support, and crawl with us (RSVP here)!

Boulder Startup Week 2016

A big thank you to Dave Mayer for paving the way with the Mental Health in the Startup Realm Panel during Boulder Startup Week 2016 alongside Kevin Owocki, Tom Higley, Sarah Jane Coffey, and Brad Feld. An even bigger thank you to the 350+ people who RSVP’d to learn about brain health.

Read Part 2 to see what happens next!

Posted from sigmend.com/braincrawl

Read about the evolution of the crawl leading up to Denver Startup Week Brain Crawl 2017

--

--

Lance Powers
Open Labs

Imagine a world where those of us with brain disorders have the Hope we need to live Openly. Now let’s go build it.