Everything Good Has Already Been Invented: How Michael Cera’s Phone Can Teach Us To Compete

Nathan Kontny
Signal v. Noise
Published in
2 min readMay 5, 2016

We want to create important, impressive, new things, but as we look around everything seems so crowded. So competitive.

Highrise, the company I run, was originally a software product created in 2007. It was one of the first web based CRM tools around. Now, the market is littered with competition. I took on a daunting task when Highrise spun off from Basecamp last year. So what do I do?

Michael Cera was staring at me through the reflection on the elevator doors

NEW YORK, NY — AUGUST 14: Actor Michael Cera attends the ‘This Is Our Youth’ Cast Photo Call at Cort Theatre on August 14, 2014 in New York City. (Photo by Cindy Ord/Getty Images)

A couple years ago, after my daughter was born, my wife had a followup visit with her doctor. As we were coming out of the office, we found ourselves waiting for an elevator with another guy. At a sideways glance, he looked oddly like Michael Cera (Juno, Arrested Development). Instead of making an overt gesture to look, I glanced at the shiny surface of the elevator doors, and saw him staring at me :) Confirmed; it was him. There was a television production company on the same floor. When the elevator opened it was packed with people. So my wife, Michael, and I crammed in shoulder to shoulder. It was an odd bonding moment with this complete stranger and celebrity. As we neared the lobby he pulled out his cell phone and I noticed it was probably what you’d expect from Michael Cera… an old-school flip phone.

At first I would tell friends a quirky story of me “meeting” Michael Cera and his unusual choice of phones, but I realized the phone is also an important reminder of how to compete…

Read the rest of the article at Forbes.com

--

--

Nathan Kontny
Signal v. Noise

Y Combinator alum. Created Draft (http://draftin.com). Watch: https://youtube.com/nathankontny. Previous: Highrise CEO, Rockstar Coders CTO