#MeetTheTeam: Q&A with Marec Reifert

Signals VC
sVC Perspective
Published in
3 min readSep 21, 2020
Marec Reifert

Next in our #MeetTheIntern series is Marec Reifert who has been supporting our investment team for eight months. We asked him about his time at signals VC, what his learnings were and what qualities future interns should have to be a good fit.

Hi Marec, thanks for taking the time to answer a few questions. To begin with, let us know what your background is and what attracted you to the VC world.

My background is in business and I have a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration. In addition, I interned at different startups and at a deep-tech VC firm prior to joining signals VC. I guess my passion to support young companies, accelerate change, as well as my interest in finance constituted the initial spark to explore the VC sector.

What motivated you to apply for an internship with signals Venture Capital?

One reason was for sure the chat I had with Clemens (Investment Manager at signals VC) at an event last year. The other factors were signals VC’s investment focus, their strong portfolio and particularly their team. It seemed to provide a great learning environment and the newest additions during my time even amplified that.

What is the typical week of a signals VC intern like?

Every week provided something new: In one week, you support the team on investor-relation matters, and in the next week, you help their portfolio companies. Nevertheless, like with every other job, a typical week includes some regular tasks, such as talking to founders, gathering knowledge in various fields, and supporting due diligence processes. However, my tasks never became monotonous, as every startup and founder I met gave me new insights.

What were the main learnings of your time with us?

That is a tough question, as I’m still at the very beginning of my professional career and learn new things almost daily. However, one key learning for me was how the Signal Iduna Group has managed to kick-start a successful Venture Capital program. Other major learnings came from my chats with founders and the daily exchange with my colleagues.

What did you like best about your time at signals VC?

Unquestionably the responsibility and freedom I got. Moreover, I really enjoyed working with the team and the many chances to learn from them. One very specific highlight was the investment in zenloop which I accompanied from the first call up to the notary signing. I guess not a lot of VC firms offer that opportunity to their interns, which made it all the more worthwhile for me.

Paul Schwarzenholz (zenloop), Lukasz Lazewski (zenloop, on screen), Marcus Polke (signals VC), Marec Reifert (signals vC), Björn Kolbmüller (zenloop)

Do you have any advice for future applicants?

Yes, of course — the most essential characteristic that an applicant should have in my opinion is an intrinsic drive to continuously learn. I guess that should be a general approach to life, but it especially applies to working in venture capital. Additionally, a proactive approach to work and a strong interest in technology will help to make the most out of an internship here.

What’s next for you after the internship?

With my last day at signals VC, my gap year came to an end as well. Next, I’m off to Milan where I have the thrilling opportunity to pursue my Master’s degree in Fintech at the MIP Graduate School of Business.

Thank you for taking the time to share your insights with us, Marec!

If you want to connect with Marec, follow him on Linkedin.

You have a can-do attitude, strong work ethics, a fascination for new technologies and business models, as well as first experience in a fast-paced startup or investment environment? We are looking for interns to join our team on a rolling basis. If that sounds just like you, send us your CV and a motivation letter at info@signals.vc.

We are looking forward to hearing from you!

--

--

Signals VC
sVC Perspective

We back visionary founders building globally leading enterprise businesses