Dan Brown

Krishna Kanth
2 min readSep 4, 2014

--

Dan Brown is one of the most influential authors of my life. My first glance into his works was through the Robert Langdon character from The Da Vinci Code. Ever since childhood, I was interested in such stuff that Langdon deals with in his career — mysteries, mythologies, legends, codes, symbols, secrets.

This tempted me to read Dan’s other book Angels and Demons, and that’s it I was astonished with the character of Camerlengo Carlo Ventresca. Mainly, the 94th chapter of the book where he opens up the Conclave for the entire world to witness live on the media and proclaims about the battle that was taking place there between Science and Religion; and how, by the end of the book, the final truth reveals itself.

This had changed away my entire perception of many things in this world, especially of how faithful people can get in the matters of God and how far they can go to remain that way, irrespective of whatever that faith means to the outside world.

After I’ve favorited Dan, one day, when I was in my NIT campus library, I was going through his Wikipedia page and read about his entire life. The way he designed his own life, around the world of words ever since he was a child and a teenager had left me enchanted. I, having realized a bit late about my love for literature and my passion of writing, wished very much for my life to be like his. I was very much moved by his commitment toward books.

I will never forget in my life the magical experiences I had whenever I touched his words, because they’re a part of me now and forever.

--

--