They Say

Jamie Weiss
Signed, Sealed, Adopted.
1 min readFeb 17, 2022

Here is my latest poem. It is written from the perspective of myself at just a few days old, surrounded by a family other then my own, being aware of all that was happening to me as a relinquished person, but not being able to respond or take action.

They Say

They say it’s for the best
and there is no other way.
It’s all ok and I’ll be just fine.
At least that’s what they say.

But what do they really know?
They are not me!
How am I supposed to live
without my family?

They say that I don’t need to know
so secrets they shall keep.
All their friends and relatives agree -
not a single peep.

But how could I not know?
It’s obvious to see.
I don’t fit at all
in this strange family.

They say that I am theirs,
no one could ever take my place.
Yet when I look at them
there’s no reflection of my face.

How could they not know?
I am more than me.
My origins, my heritage -
I am my family.

They say it’s for the best
and there is no other way.
It’s all ok and I’ll be just fine.
At least that’s what they say.

Newborn baby in sleeper with uncomfortable facial expression being held by adoptive mother with 70s style clothing and furninshings

--

--

Jamie Weiss
Signed, Sealed, Adopted.

Wife, special needs mom, adoptee, professional photographer, writer, and lover of all things sweet!