http://www.flickr.com/photos/kasilof/

Is that you, Mom?

Brandon Uttley
Signs Along The Way
1 min readMay 29, 2013

--

Getting in the car today, I saw a mockingbird before I pulled away from the curb. I smiled and thought, “Mom, is that you?”

I often wonder if she comes back just to get a glimpse of me now and then. I miss her terribly. Her death came too quickly.

Birds make me think of the “Laurus Heart” song by Sting. It seems entirely possible that Mom sometimes come back, and sometimes as a bird.

Birds on the roof of my mother’s house
I’ve no stones that chase them away
Birds on the roof of my mother’s house
Will sit on my roof someday
They fly at the window, they fly at the door
Where does she get the strength to fight them anymore
She counts all her children as a shield against the rain
Lifts her eyes to the sky like a flower to the rain

--

--

Brandon Uttley
Signs Along The Way

Entrepreneur. CEO of Go For Launch. Author of Pod Castaway.