#SikaLife Ep01: Accra living, baby girl investor lifestyle.

Lotanna Nwose
SikaTalks
Published in
4 min readJan 14, 2022

SikaLife is a new bi-weekly column where we interact with young people in Ghana about their personal finances and interesting experiences on how they earn and spend their income powered by InvestSika, you can share your own story anonymously here.

This is a conversation with a 28-year-old baby girl living in Accra and working in the healthcare sector earning 6,000 cedis per month and with a chop life philosophy.

Q: When was the first time you spent money in your life, can you recall?

The first time I spent money ….. Yes, I think I was about 6 or 7 years old. My dad had scolded me over something I did. His idea of an apology was to give me money.

My man tried to buy his redemption, and he succeeded. That was how I started receiving daily pocket money for school snacks.

Q: Haha interesting, how did you spend the redemption funds?

Ice cream definitely bought some ice cream and then added biscuits too.

Q: What about your own hard-earned money, when was the first time you got paid for work you did?

After I graduated from the University and right before the National service call-up, I was doing some random creative writing gigs. I would charge people to write or edit their statement of purpose, and articles for some blogs. This was way back in 2016.

Q: Eii Cash Madam! What about your first job after National service?

Yeah, my first job paid me about GHS450. It really wasn’t much but it was a remote job and I was living with my sister so I took it, today I make 6,000 cedis per month working in the healthcare space.

Salary Report Card.

Q: Eii I want to be like you when I grow up. How much do you think you need in the bank to have a great retirement

100 million US Dollars

InvestSika lets you invest in the US stock market from Ghana easily with as little as $20 using your mobile money. Join the tribe today and learn something new every single week.

Q: Hahaha, what if you won 200,000 Cedis today what you for do?

  1. Buy more crypto assets
  2. Buy more stock
  3. Invest in a new startup
  4. Visit a beach resort at Ada for a week

Q: What is the one thing you found out super late about money you wish you knew way earlier?

When it comes to money, I was just a late bloomer. I wasn’t exposed to the concept of investments quite early enough. I knew to earn and save but I never learned or understood how investments work.

Q: What would you rather do: Earn more or Save more?

Earn more so that you can invest without tears.

Q: Do you have an emergency stash?

Yes, I do. Rainy day funds. Hopefully, it never rains.

Q: Tell me about one time you got stranded financially or someone you know got stranded

Oh actually last year In October, I needed to pay my rent and I didn’t have the complete amount at the time, and the other part was hanging between two commercial banks. I had to borrow money from a friend to pay up and then pay him later which I have done. I do not enjoy borrowing at all.

Q: How do you get lunch daily?

Jumia Food

Q: What is the cheapest you have spent on food before??

6 Cedis. There’s a woman who sells the best Waakye in Ghana. It is so cheap and amazing.

Q: Your most expensive Transport fare in Accra?

50 Ghana Cedis Uber trip. It still hurts just thinking about it.

Q: What 6 apps do you use daily?

YouTube, WhatsApp, Twitter, Chrome, Note, and Netflix.

Q: What is your favorite InvestSika app feature?

The knowledge base feature is my favorite cos there is always content and things to learn. I am still trying to understand and fully grasp the ropes of investments.

Q: Finally, how financially responsible would you say you are on a scale of 10?

I think I’m a 7!

Oh great, thank you so much for your time Cash Madam

SikaLife is a new bi-weekly column where we interact with young people in Ghana about their personal finances and interesting experiences on how they earn and spend their income powered by InvestSika, you can share your own story anonymously here.

--

--

Lotanna Nwose
SikaTalks

Helping Startups with Webhooks management at Convoy so they can focus on their core product offerings. Twitter:@viclotana