Silent World

Mieke Byerley
The Silent World
Published in
2 min readOct 26, 2016

--

The ghosts among us, are not who we expect … They are the living lost.

1.0 Different

“You’re just different!” was the reply.

For many years that statement would haunt me, torment me and isolate me. It would be my constant companion, my greatest foe and yet, also my greatest strength…..I AM different.

To the world I look like an ordinary thirteen year old, slender, athletic and energetic. A girl with green eyes, long straight strawberry blond hair streaked by the sun, and fair skin easily sunburned. I love PE (Physical Education), art, music, science and mathematics in fact I enjoy school and I am good at it.

By all standards I could be considered pretty, intelligent, artistic and athletic I guess. A happy girl who loves life, has big dreams and plenty of talent. I love people and I like to help them, especially those not so fortunate in life. A fitting profile for a popular role model among my schoolmates and wider students.

BUT……………. I am not.

The reality stands in stark contrast as I am in fact a complete social outcast, a loner, a nerd, a weirdo, a MISFIT.

It is true, I am;

  • One of the first picked for a team (sport/project/debating)
  • Sought out for study help
  • Known for a listening ear, a shoulder to cry on and impartial advise

But I also:

  • Eat my lunch on my own
  • Never get invited to parties
  • Never get asked to the school social/ball

I carry a stigma like a social leper, all associates risk tainting; I am marked. I know not why, I understand not how, nor can anyone answer. I am used for my skills then discarded like a broken toy. An object of derision, not pitied but endlessly tormented through bullying.

If I am not accepted then what good are my talents? If I cannot share then what purpose do I serve?

I am different …………. and I am ALONE.

Next Chapter 1.1 Battlement

--

--