The (Not so) Terrible Twos: Happy 2nd Birthday USSF!

Lisa Bongiovanni
Silicon Mountain
Published in
3 min readDec 20, 2021

For the past 6 weeks, I’ve had the pleasure of relocating to the Space Coast in Cape Canaveral Florida. I’ve seen 6 rocket live launches –including watching 4 humans get blasted into space–met Gen John Raymond, the Chief of Space Force Operations, participated in countless readiness mission briefings, and have successfully avoided every Florida gator I came into contact with (there have been a lot!). I’ve spent most my time taking in and absorbing as much as I possibly can about the entire space industry, specifically the operations of the United States Space Force (USSF). While this is technically my job and I’m being paid to be here, it has not felt like work for one minute.

I call Colorado “home,” which is coincidentally also the home of the USSF Space Operations Command (SpOC) and the newly formed Space Training and Readiness Command (STARCOM) in Colorado Springs. The transition to Florida to support the 45th Space Launch Delta and all their launch operations has been a significant departure from my normal.

This week, I’ve been privileged enough to get to experience all the hype, events and festivities to celebrate the Space Force’s 2nd birthday. While there were no jumpy castles or awkward cakes with unlit candles you can’t actually blow out (thanks, COVID), I can say this has been an amazing experience and one I am grateful to be part of.

For those that aren’t aware, the United States Space Force (USSF) is a toddler just entering its second year of life. Technically formed two years ago today on December 20, 2019, the USSF is the world’s first and currently only independent space force.

I won’t go into the entire history of the United States Space programs and interests, but it is important to note the Space Force isn’t entirely new. Before the Space Force was a force, it was a department of the Air Force. More specifically, it was Air Force Space Command for nearly 40 years. That means the US government has, as you’re all aware, been dabbling in space operations for a long time. The creation of the Space Force two years ago signifies the emphasis and importance the United States sees in the space domain for our civilian and military efforts in the future.

For me, this is a no-brainer. Space is the most obvious investment we as a nation can make in our future. The significance of space as a war-fighting domain is immeasurable. We are just beginning to scratch the surface of the opportunities space can provide us and I’m confident the payoffs will be astronomical (pun intended).

Let’s get back to the birthday celebrations. The week kicked off with the first ever USSF 5k, which I’m happy to say I did participate in, despite the Florida sun being incredibly hot — even in December. There have been distinguished visitors from all around the world and notable high-ranking leaders from all other branches of the DoD visiting to see what all the buzz is about on the Space Coast. Even though people are still mission focused with static fires, mission assurance and flight safety duties nonstop, the birthday activities, events, and honoring ceremonies have been plentiful, with high attendance and genuine excitement from all.

Tomorrow marks the 31st launch from Cape Canaveral this year and the final one of the year. If you’re like I was 18 months ago and haven’t taken the time to educate yourself on the Space Force and its initiatives, impact and significance to The United States, please take a moment to inform yourself. You won’t be disappointed and will likely be impressed.

It’s been a great honor working with the Space Force in my short time and I can’t believe what’s already been accomplished in just 24 short months. The discoveries, accomplishments and future-forward attitude while overcoming unimaginable obstacles are unparalleled to any I’ve seen in my professional career.

HBD, USSF!

--

--

Lisa Bongiovanni
Silicon Mountain

Fiercely motivated and chronically inquisitive. Ceaselessly striving to transform DoD operations.