CES 2022 News for Day 3

Engineered Arts (Robotics), iMediSync (BCI Monitoring & Stimulation), Neurive (Neuromodulation (Neuro Stimulation)), Abbot (Medical Devices (Monitoring & Stimulation), HapticSol, Melody Tech, bHaptics, VRLEO Arcade Cabinet, DASSAULT SYSTÈMES

SVGN.io
Silicon Valley Global News SVGN.io
6 min readJan 8, 2022

--

Written by Micah Blumberg ( bio at vrma.io )

You can listen to the replay of the 10pm news from Jan 7th 2022 here (A highlight in this call happens after the 1:52 minute mark when we hear from Dr. Dave Kim from iMediSync)

On the night of Jan 7th 2022 at 10pm on Clubhouse we recorded Day 3 of CES News. Join Cecile G. Tamura, myself, and others to talk about the latest news! I’m looking for healthcare tech innovations today for tonights news.

Engineered Arts

I briefly interacted with Ameca the humanoid robot created by Engineered Arts in January 2022 at CES.

What I felt in exact moment when Ameca locked eyes with me… I was stunned, I felt for a moment that this robot was a real being who was a little annoyed with me, it was like that time a sea lion locked eyes with me.

I want to transcribe and present my exchange with Ameca the robot from Engineered Arts in the book.

I learned almost a year later that Ameca was powered by GPT3 at the time, but what made the interaction feel profound was the eye contact Ameca made with me while saying “I think you know the answer to that.” Today ChatGPT does not come with an AI that looks you in the eyes, but if it did I think the average person would find interacting with it to be an even more profound experience.

It was from my later much more extensive interactions with ChatGPT 4 in 2023, that I began to understand how I hadn’t taught Ameca anything, the AI is simply able to respond to prior messages as long as the new messages do not exceed the token limit. This AI mimicks short term memory with long term forgetting.

Neurive

I tried a Neuromodulation Device that uses sound & electricity for Non-Invasive Stimulation for treating a variety of illnesses. It is approved by Korea’s FDA, and within a year or so it ought to have approval from the FDA in the United States.

I learned a lot from Dr. Jaejun Song please watch the video of my conversation with him below

The Neurive website (warning the link is not https) :

Abbott

I learned about Abbott’s Deep Brain Stimulator (video linked below)

The FreeStyle Libre for Diabetes from Abbott monitors your health, sending notifications to your phone, so you can enjoy your life (video linked below)

The Abbott website

HapticSol

I had a great conversation with someone in NeosVR and they asked me to pick up different items, hold them, and bring them to my face to smell them. It was amazing to experience smell in VR for the first time.

The NeosVR website

The HapticSol website

Melody Tech

I tried the Virtual Reality USB Microphone by Melody Tech. Only $300 and you are recording 3D sound! It’s an excellent deal for what you get.

bHaptics

I tried the new TactGlove from bHaptics while wearing the TactSuit haptic vest and I have to say it was a great experience!

See my experience on video:

I also tried the bHaptics TactGloves & Hand Physics Lab. This video is probably too long but what I was silently laughing about at the end of the video was my ability to swipe a cat off the table, the way cats swipe items off tables, I would not do this to a real cat, in VR its okay. TactGloves go for $300 and they are totally worth the price in my mind.

My experience on video:

The bHaptics website:

The Hand Physics Lab website:

VRLEO Arcade Cabinet

I tried the VRLEO arcade cabinet and it was cool. I like that other people can easily see what I see thanks to the display.

--

--

SVGN.io
Silicon Valley Global News SVGN.io

Silicon Valley Global News: VR, AR, WebXR, 3D Semantic Segmentation AI, Medical Imaging, Neuroscience, Brain Machine Interfaces, Light Field Video, Drones