Exit Reality

Exit Reality at Hotel Zetta gets 8/10 stars or a B+, or a good rating, it’s a recommended experience that could be better with a couple small changes.

SVGN.io
Silicon Valley Global News SVGN.io
4 min readJan 22, 2018

--

by Micah Blumberg, http://vrma.io

I’ve tried Exit Reality in three different places on multiple occasions. Once outside the Giant’s stadium in the Exit Reality truck. Which is an HTC Vive booth on wheels basically. Twice at an Arcade on Market St near the Castro that is a permanent installation and twice at Hotel Zetta which is an excellent hotel with a bar.

The Exit Reality VR Arcade booth at Hotel Zetta

What I like a lot about the installation at Hotel Zetta is that it’s completely free to come in and use the HTC Vive at Exit Reality. Hotel Zetta has a bar that is open to the public, this is a great place for friends to meet up, in a convenient and popular location near the mall on 5th Street, between Market and Mission St.

Hotel Zetta lobby on 5th Street between Market and Mission St.

Exit Reality has 15 quality licenses, which means there are officially 15 apps that have been approved by a developer and or their publishing company.

Pros

  1. It’s free to the public.
  2. It’s a great spot to bring friends.
  3. It’s in a great location in San Francisco.
  4. The lounge area can be reserved for private parties if you want to host your own event.
  5. The people at the hotel are really nice, welcoming, and helpful.
  6. The venue is beautiful overall.
  7. The Exit Reality booth is good looking, high tech, with pdded walls and LCD Screens
  8. The HTC Vive has a deluxe audio strap, a VR cover, and the attendant wiped down both the Vive and the controllers before and after I used it so I appreciated that.

The title that I tried out was called “To The Top VR”

To the Top is a fun active game, the goal is to grab the items marked with a blue collar, and to vault yourself upwards as fast as you can to the top, it gets very challenging very fast.

Exit Reality VR Arcade Booth Cons

  1. It’s not wireless, it doesn’t feature the TPCAST, instead there is a wire hanging from the ceiling, so when I was playing To The Top VR I found was swinging my arms a lot, as is normal for that game, but my wrists kept getting caught in the cable hanging from the ceiling, and as a result my wrists are now hurting as I type this.
  2. My bag was positioned outside the booth, which made me a little bit nervous because when you are in VR you are effectively wearing a blindfold to the outside world, and I was worried that any random person could walk into the venue and grab my stuff and I would be unaware of that.

I’m giving the Exit Reality Experience an 8 out of 10 possible stars, after adding up 8 pros, and 2 cons.

My rating system:
10 A+
9 A
8 B+
7 B
6 C
5 D

If Exit Reality gets a wireless system like TPCAST, and a more secure location for my carry on bag (like a cubby, or a spot inside the play area) (lots of people coming in and out of the hotel will have a carry on or some kind of small luggage with them) I would change my rating to a perfect 10.

That said. I recommend the Exit Reality Experience at Hotel Zetta overall. Bring your friends for drinks and fun.

#ExitReality

--

--

SVGN.io
Silicon Valley Global News SVGN.io

Silicon Valley Global News: VR, AR, WebXR, 3D Semantic Segmentation AI, Medical Imaging, Neuroscience, Brain Machine Interfaces, Light Field Video, Drones